Speak to Karliah and now we need to meet with her at the standing stone. Leave Riften and go south of the city to find the standing stone. Speak to Karliah and then enter the mountainside. Watch the little scene and follow Karliah afterwards. She then tells you about the Nightingale Armor. Shortly after crossing the first bridge, be sure to explore the ground to your right to find a PICKPOCKET SKILLBOOK named “Purloined Shadows” (by some hay).

Follow the marker and activate the stone to receive a complete set of Nightingale Armor. Be sure to equip it all to complete the current objective.

Head to the right now and check out the left and right rooms. The left room has a chest while the right room has a chest and a SNEAK SKILLBOOK called the “The Red Kitchen Reader” . Keep on following them and when you’re asked about the Oath to Nocturnal, say yes. After crossing the gate, stand on the left platform, where the marker is. After a scene with Nocturnal, speak with Karliah again as well as with Brynjolf.

Now we’re the leader of the Thieves Guild… well, after the quests are over and Mercer is taken down. Something to look forward to at least!


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Bethesda Softworks
  • Platforms
    PC, PS3, PS4, Switch, XB 360, XB One
  • Genre
    Action RPG
  • Guide Release
    31 May 2012
  • Last Updated
    26 October 2021
    Version History
  • Guide Author
    Greg Wright

Share this free guide:

Skyrim is the homeland of the Nords, a fierce and proud warrior people who are used to the bitter cold and mountanous terrain that mark the lands of Skyrim. Wracked by civil war, and threatened by the return of the legendary dragons, Skyrim faces its darkest hour. You must make sense of this maelstrom, explore the frozen tundra and bring hope to the people. The future of Skyrim, even the Empire itself, hangs in the balance as they wait for the prophesized Dragonborn to come; a hero born with the power of The Voice, and the only one who can stand amongst the dragons. You are that Dragonborn.

Version 1.2

  • Introduction to the Races.
  • How to complete every storyline quest.
  • Where to find and conquer every side-mission.
  • Location of every powerful Dragonwall.
  • Search out and defeat every Dragon.
  • How to find hidden, powerful weapons.
  • Over 200 captioned screenshots provide even more help.
  • Dragonborn DLC covered in full.
  • Dawnguard DLC covered in full.
  • Screenshots for the major side-missions.
  • Achievements/Trophy descriptions (includes all 3 DLC packs).
  • Character Creation guide.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: