Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score

Devil May Cry 5

Game Structure

Jarrod Garripoli

Devil May Cry 5, similar to previous entries in the series, is mission-based. This means that you have set levels to explore, which are separate from one another, each of them housing their own little secrets. If following the main story, you can go from one mission to the next, without having to stop, but that’s not necessary. The Main Menu option in the game brings you to a screen with a myriad of options, like Mission Select. Here, you can replay any missions you’ve finished, but only on difficulties you’ve done. So, you can’t play the Main Mission 01 on Devil Hunter if you’ve only finished it on Human.

(1 of 2) You can purchase new skills in the shop before every mission

You can purchase new skills in the shop before every mission (left), as well as change your equipment load for the current mission (right)

Within missions, you pretty much go from point A to point B, fighting any enemies along the way. There are Secret Missions found during missions, which are short little optional tasks that reward you with Blue Orb Fragments upon completing them. You will also find them during the missions themselves. Prior to beginning any mission, you have the option to purchase new skills from Nico using Red Orbs acquired during the missions themselves (Red Orbs are the currency).

Since there are three playable characters that function differently from one another, each characters’ skills are their own and don’t carry over to the others. The only thing that does carry over between characters are the Blue and Purple Orbs. Note that Nico has a limited number of these for sale, too. Most of the missions have a specific character attached to it, like Nero being used for the Prologue and first three missions, before the game has you using another character for the subsequent mission.

No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS4, XB One
  • Genre
    Action Adventure, Hack-n-slash
  • Guide Release
    15 March 2019
  • Last Updated
    7 December 2020
    Version History
  • Guide Author
    Jarrod Garripoli

Share this free guide:

Devil May Cry has finally returned! The over-the-top action series from Capcom comes back with a brand new entry, where you will be able to control one of three characters, one entirely new to the franchise, to slay demons and look stylish while doing it. The demonic invasion has returned to the world of Devil May Cry, with a demonic tree taking root in Red Grave City. Armed with a robotic arm, made by a self-professed weapons expert named Nico, Nero plans on ridding the city of this demon tree.

This guide is intended to bring you through all of the main missions in the game, offering tips on the enemies you fight, how to get S-Ranks on the tougher missions and strategies for the boss fights. It will also list all of the locations for the collectibles, as well as where to find every single Secret Mission, as well as how to complete those. In addition, you will find a full trophy/achievement guide, as well as details on all of the skills and mechanics for each of the three characters you can control in the game.

  • Full walkthrough of all the main missions in the game, including changes across difficulties
  • Locations and strategies for every Secret Mission
  • Strategies on how to get S-Ranks on every mission
  • How to find every single collectible in the game
  • A list of all skills for all three characters, as well as strategies on how to use each character
  • A complete trophy/achievement guide

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: