Reviews Overview

Latest
  • 1/0

The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel III Review

14th of October 2019 by Ben Chard

All in all, Trails of Cold Steel III is an excellent Legend of Heroes game that brings the series to a more modern standard. The graphics are a lot better, the battle system is a lot more in-depth if not easy to break and the story is intriguing throughout. If you’re new to the series or have only played the previous Cold Steel games however, you’ll find yourself lost at times with the overall plot and many of the new areas and characters introduced here.

Final Fantasy IX Review

13th of October 2019 by Jarrod Garripoli

The modern ports of Final Fantasy IX are a great way to play the game, despite a few technical shortcomings that weren’t present in the original.

The Alliance Alive HD Remaster Review

4th of October 2019 by Ben Chard

Ultimately, The Alliance Alive HD Remaster is an interesting call back to the JRPGs of old and the excellent combat system is its saving grace. If you played the original back on the Nintendo 3DS, there’s not enough new features to dive in for a second time however if you missed out on this game the first time around then The Alliance Alive HD Remaster is a competent if somewhat unremarkable game.

The Surge 2 Review

23rd of September 2019 by Ben Chard

The Surge 2 improves upon the first game in almost every way which is a huge testament to how far Deck 13 have come as a developer. If you disliked the first game and found no enjoyment anywhere, you’ll most likely find nothing for you here but if there were parts you enjoyed about the original, the Surge 2 improves upon it and makes the sci-fi Soulslike genre it’s own.

Blasphemous Review

9th of September 2019 by Ben Chard

Blasphemous is a great addition to the genre and it truly feels like a unique creation able to stand fine on its own without taking too much from other games out there. The world and lore are fantastic and enough to keep anyone with a passing interest engrossed to the very end.

Monster Hunter World: Iceborne Review

4th of September 2019 by Ben Chard

Monster Hunter World: Iceborne is a fantastic expansion that almost feels like a sequel with all of the content that’s packed into it. There’s a huge cast of monsters to hunt with lots of new equipment to keep you going for another year at least and along with the promise of post-launch content like the base game received, you’re in for another treat when you make the journey to Hoarfrost Reach.

Remnant: From the Ashes Review

23rd of August 2019 by Ben Chard

Remnant: From the Ashes perfectly captures the Soulsborne feeling it was aiming for with some neat tricks of its own. The way the world is created through random encounters and design means that there will always be something new to discover. The technical side is a bit hit or miss but underneath a few questionable design choices, there’s a fantastic game waiting to burst out.

Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night Review

19th of August 2019 by Ben Chard

Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night is a fantastic game and is a sequel to Koji Igarashi’s Castlevania games in all but name. There’s enough familiarity there but also many new ideas which will please newcomers and veterans alike. It may have been a long time coming but Koji Igarashi’s return has been well worth the wait.

Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers Review

1st of August 2019 by Ben Chard

Shadowbringers is the highest point of Final Fantasy XIV to date and it brings some much needed changes, two exciting new classes and an unforgettable story that rivals even the very best Final Fantasy stories. An excellent music score elevates the package higher and with the promise of a 24 man raid series based on Nier Automata, there’s a lot more to look forward to,

Devil May Cry 5 Review

13th of July 2019 by Jarrod Garripoli

Devil May Cry 5 is the action game that fans of the series have wanted since the fourth entry dropped over 10 years ago. Offering more options for combat and the ability to practice against enemies, you’ll be pulling off stylish combos in no time. Anyone looking for that over-the-top action game needs to look no further than this title.

Far Cry 5 Review

10th of July 2019 by Ben Chard

Far Cry 5 offers a new, interesting perspective on the Far Cry series and it’s a much needed one to stop the series from becoming stale. The Co-op mode is the highlight and you’ll get hours of enjoyment out of it should you stick around and explore Hope County to its fullest.

Red Dead Redemption 2 Review

7th of July 2019 by Ben Chard

With a wonderful cast of characters and a narrative that will hook you to the end, it’s a story well worth seeing to its conclusion and beyond. There’s a meaty post game to contend with that expands the story even more and you’ll find yourself with something to always do.

God of War (PS4) Review

7th of July 2019 by Ben Chard

God of War is a modern masterpiece and one of the best games to grace the Playstation 4 library. It’s a sweeping tale of loss and new beginnings and one that echoes the nature of the God of War series. With a stunning soundtrack and many gameplay systems to sink your teeth into, there’s something here for everyone and a game that will keep you engrossed for many hours.

Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age Review

7th of July 2019 by Ben Chard

A story that begins with something simple evolves into an adventure you won’t soon forget and one that is well worth playing to its thrilling conclusion should you have the time to spare.

Kingdom Hearts 3 Review

7th of July 2019 by Ben Chard

Kingdom Hearts III is a love letter to fans and welcomes newcomers to its crazy world. The story is a fitting end to a long running saga and leaves you wanting more from the Kingdom Hearts universe, Kingdom Hearts III is an epic conclusion and one not to be missed.

Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice Review

7th of July 2019 by Ben Chard

Sekiro is a game made for fans of From Software who wanted a little more control over their actions. Gone are the builds and playstyles from Dark Souls and Bloodborne but the sword combat is the best that From Software has ever produced along with some stunning level design. The difficulty is brutal at times and may not be for everyone but stick around and you’ll find a journey that will pull you in like no other.

Discord logo