Gamer Guides logo

Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor
Strategy Guide

Author(s): Nathan Garvin
Editor(s): Nathan Garvin
First Published: 25-03-2015 / 00:00 GMT
Last Updated: 12-02-2019 / 19:30 GMT
Version: 1.0 (????) 21-08-2019 / 12:07 GMT

Middle-Earth: Shadow of Mordor Guide Download PDF

Last updated 6 months ago · Guide Information
Leveling Up



Resources are split into three categories: Focus, which determines how long the "slow-down" time distortion effect lasts while aiming your bow, Elf-Shot, which is your ranged ammunition, consumed when you fire arrows and perform Shadow Strike attacks, and Health, which determines how much damage you can sustain before dying.


The three weapon types are the bow, sword, and dagger. Improving one of these "Attributes" allows Talion to equip another Rune in that weapon. Each weapon can have up to five Runes. Each weapon tree also has a special ability that gives Talion the benefit of unlimited Executions (Storm of Urfael-Swords), unlimited Focus, Elf-Shot, and Fire Arrows (Flame of Azkar-Bow), or the ability to perform unlimited Stealth Kills (Shadow of Acharn-Dagger). You do not need to purchase all the Rune upgrades before purchasing one of these abilities, you merely need enough Mirian. These three skills are essentially "I win" skills, useful for tougher battles.

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment
  • Platforms
    Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360, Xbox One
  • Genre
  • Guide Release
    25 March 2015
  • Last Updated
    12 February 2019
  • Guide Author
    Nathan Garvin

Share this free guide:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: