Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score

Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty

Wo Long New Game Plus: What Unlocks?

Jacob Woodward

There’s no mistaking it, Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty is a pretty challenging game even if you are a Soulslike veteran. However, if you’ve fought your way through the many adversaries in your path and reach the end of the experience, what’s next? Well, you’ll be thankful to know that there is in fact a New Game Plus mode in Wo Long and it introduces some new features.

This guide takes you through these new additions that New Game Plus brings so you’re fully aware as to what to expect when the time comes where you want to experience Wo Long’s many missions once more.

How To Unlock New Game Plus In Wo Long

Before we get into what’s new with the mode, let’s quickly take you through how to actually unlock it.

To get access to Wo Long’s New Game Plus, what you’ll need to do is simply complete all seven Parts of the game. This may seem like a no brainer, but unlocking New Game Plus in other games sometimes requires some special requirements so it’s always nice to know all you have to do is simply make it through the main story of Wo Long to do so.

What’s New In Wo Long New Game Plus?

Now you know for sure how to unlock it, let’s run though what new additions there are in Wo Long’s New Game Plus mode so that you know if it’s worth your time or not.

First off, with New Game Plus in Wo Long, you’ll get access to a whole new difficulty setting. This is called Rising Dragon and offers up an even greater challenge to that of your first playthrough. However, one switch up if you do choose to play on this difficulty setting is that you won’t be able to replay all of the missions you previously ran through right off the bat.

Instead, you’ll only have access to missions in Parts 1 through 3 and will need to complete these to then unlock the subsequent challenges akin to what you will have done in your first playthrough. This does get a little less rigid in the late game but for the most part, it will be a pretty linear progression system.

Wo Long New Game Plus description when unlocked

Moving onto another feature in New Game Plus, and something we’re sure you’ll be thankful for is five star armour and weapons. This will certainly help you with the aforementioned difficulty setting but as you would expect, they are rare drops.

You can net yourself some of this five star equipment from killing enemies and looting chests but some have reported that they haven’t had a five star drop in around six missions, so we’d probably suggest trying to max out your current four star equipment to have your best chance of success. What you can do though is utilise Yinglong, the Divine Beast that you unlock after completing the game for the first time which increases drop rates, making your chances that little bit better.

Some examples of five star wepaons and armour in Wo Long

No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
    Koei Tecmo
  • Platforms,
    PS4, PS5, Steam, XB One, XB X|S
  • Genre
    Action RPG
  • Guide Release
    1 March 2023
  • Last Updated
    21 March 2023
    Version History
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

A dark fantasy set during the Three Kingdoms period. Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty is the follow-up game to the much acclaimed Nioh Series developed by Team Ninja. Wo Long promises to be more accessible than what Nioh was giving the players aid during the missions with the help of the Reinforcement companions system. This guide will cover everything you need to know about Wo Long: Fallen Dynasty including the following:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: