When not in battle mode, a minimap is displayed in the upper right corner. While prancing around, enemies will randomly spawn next to you and the Mog Clock will pop up below your protagonist. Enemies are also marked on the minimap as red dots.

Mog Clock comprises of two segments; green and yellow. While the counter is still green, the spawned enemies are unable to move, and you can easily secure a Pre-emptive Strike by hitting them with your weapon. If you choose not to fight, just run away so that no enemies are within the encounter circle.

However, if the counter on the Mog Clock enters the yellow zone, the enemies begin to move and will try to engage you in battle. If they manage to touch you, battle initiates with no advantage for either side. Some enemies have the annoying ability to immediately charge you when they spawn, giving you little time to react to their appearance.

If Mog Clock runs out while you’re still in the enemy’s field of encounter, battle starts automatically and you will also be unable to restart the battle. If you secure the Pre-emptive Strike, a few of the enemies will get a 20% bonus to their Stagger Gauges, and the party begins the battle with the Haste buff in effect. After the battle is won, you get:

a) items, which are dropped by enemies (there’s no Steal command)

b) CP, which is used to purchase upgrade nodes in the Crystarium

c) Gil, which is dropped by enemies (huge improvement over FFXIII)

After the battle is won, you will also be given a star ranking. Star rank depends on:

  • Target time - time alloted for taking out all enemies

  • Battle Duration - how quickly you defeated all enemies

  • Enemy Points - self-explanatory

  • Pre-emptive Bonus - self-explanatory Points awarded depend on how quickly you took out the enemies, damage incurred/taken, and some other factors.

Star ranking has two uses:

a) Beating last boss with five stars gives you a trophy

b) It influences drop rate of spoils obtained after battle

  • Your HP is completely recovered after each battle.

  • There are only three character stats - HP, STR, and MAG.

  • There are only two types of equipment - weapons and accessories.

  • You can store a maximum of 999999 CP, the rest is then wasted.

  • If your leader is KOed, the game switches over to Noel/Serah. But if both protagonists are KOed, then the game is over. Choose the top option to restart the battle by being returned to the map just before entering the battle. If you choose the bottom option, you will be returned to the title screen.

  • If the battle at hand proves too tough, simply grind out for CP. You’re not restricted by Crystarium levels like the previous game.


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms,
  • Genre
  • Guide Release
    24 February 2012
  • Last Updated
    20 February 2021
  • Guide Author
    Damir Kolar

Share this free guide:

After the happy ending of Final Fantasy XIII, Serah Farron sets out on a search for her sister Lightning who mysteriously disappeared. No one but Serah remembers what happened that day underneath the crystal pillar and many believe Lightning died. Serah is not convinced however, and along with Noel, a mysterious time traveller from the future, she journeys through time and space to find her sister. Along the way, she uncovers dark and sinister truths that could destroy the timeline and set untold chaos in motion. You must join together to stop that from happening!

Traverse the Historia Crux with our guide, which includes the following:

  • 100% walkthrough to Final Fantasy XIII-2.
  • Accompanied with helpful screenshots and videos.
  • All side quests & post game content covered in detail.
  • How to obtain every collectible in the game.
  • HD videos of key battles and how to beat every boss.
  • Comprehensive Coliseum battle guide.
  • The best places to level and farm XP.
  • A complete Bestiary for every enemy type.
  • DLC guide for “Sazh’s Episode: Heads or Tails?” and “Requiem for a Goddess”.
  • 100% Platinum Trophy / Achievements guide.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: