Gamer Guides logo

Monster Hunter Generations
Strategy Guide

Author(s): Cassie Sun
First Published: 01-09-2016 / 00:00 GMT
Last Updated: 21-05-2020 / 17:59 GMT
Version: 1.50 (????) 03-06-2020 / 00:10 GMT

Monster Hunter Generations Guide

2 weeks ago · Guide Information


New to Generations

Generations introduces a whole host of new overhauls and tweaks that players from previous games will have never encountered before. So if you're wondering just what's been put in or thrown out, look no further!

1. Hunting Styles and Hunter Arts

This is the biggest addition to Monster Hunter, and the most marketed new feature of Generations . Previously, each weapon had its own unique way of handling, and while that already offered an extremely diverse way to play the game, evidently it wasn't enough and all weapons have been given four new subsets of playstyle . They are: Guild, Striker, Aerial, and Adept . Guild is the tried-and-true veteran's gameplay style with very few changes made from previous incarnations of Monster Hunter, and the other three styles spin off of Guild by adding in and tossing out different combos and abilities. This means you have fifty-six ways to approach a monster!

As if that weren't enough, you now have skills you can equip. Hunting Arts are independent from armor skills and can be equipped and changed up as you wish. Different hunting arts are exclusive to different weapons. They are charged up by attacking and taking damage and can do a variety of things from support to an all-out offensive charge!

Check out the "Weapons" section of this guide for an in-depth breakdown of the hunting styles.

2. Prowler Mode

Perhaps the biggest surprise, you now have what is essentially the fifteenth weapon of the game: your cat. Yes, you can finally play as your beloved Palico! Crazy cat ladies rejoice! You can play as a cat and beat the entire game, or you can go to multiplayer and support your fellow human hunters (or leave them biting the dust as you show off your unlimited stamina). This adds a whole new perspective to the game...literally!

Check out our "Prowler Mode" section of this guide for full Prowler Mode coverage. Cats rule, hunters drool!

3. Deviant Monsters and Hyper Mode

Generations unfortunately doesn't offer anything by the way of subspecies, which can be a shame for those who love them. Instead, it offers something better: Deviant monsters. And if you miss the Frenzy and Apex monsters of 4 Ultimate , look no further than the new Hyper Mode for your fix.

Deviant monsters are, according to in-game lore, monsters that escaped the watch of the Hunter's Guild and the Wycademy and have "progressed". How they have progressed, nobody knows, but we have our fan theories and you should make some up too! They are essentially subspecies, but instead of being on more even footing with the main species they spin off from, they are much more powerful, generally quite larger, and have very, very unique weapons and armor sets. Our page "Deviant Equipment" discusses everything you need to know about deviant monster gear.

Very few monsters have deviant variants, but what few there are will certainly be a new challenge for you.

Later on in High Rank, Hyper Monsters will appear. They are especially enraged monsters that drop special materials necessary to upgrade your weapons to their highest level. Hyper Monsters are very aggressive, very powerful, and will not let up their assault until they are dead. Basically every large monster has a hyper counterpart.

4. Revamped Upgrade System

For the first time in over a decade, the upgrade system has had a huge facelift. Now, weapons have levels in addition to upgrade branches. All weapons can level up, and at max level, all weapons are comparable to each other, leading to huge variety in endgame-capable weapons, unlike previous installments. As you level up, you will then unlock different upgrade trees.

Leveling up weapons and upgrading weapons also no longer requires specific rare bits of monsters. Rather, material points must be met for an upgrade to happen.

This removes an aspect of RNG (rare item drops) and exchange for needing more (common) materials overall. It can be, however, rather unintuitive, but don't worry, our "Crafting and Upgrading" page has your back.

5. No More Arm Wrestling

Here is the most important thing we have lost transition into Generations. I'm sorry to say but when in multiplayer, who hosts what can no longer be decided with an arm wrestling match.

Capcom, please bring this back!

Guide Information

  • Publisher
  • Platforms
    3DS, Switch
  • Genre
    Action Role-playing
  • Guide Release
    1 September 2016
  • Last Updated
    21 May 2020
  • Guide Author
    Cassie Sun

Share this free guide:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account:

Discord logo

Remove this ad
Subscribe to Premium