Gamer Guides logo

Monster Hunter Generations
Strategy Guide

Author(s): Cassie Sun
First Published: 01-09-2016 / 00:00 GMT
Last Updated: 01-11-2019 / 16:08 GMT
Version: 1.50 (????) 08-04-2020 / 02:06 GMT

Monster Hunter Generations Guide

5 months ago · Guide Information


Bestiary Classes

Monster Hunter’s beasts are classified in a similar way to real-world taxonomy. This following table gives you an overview of the different orders of animals in the world of Monster Hunter.

Classification Description
Amphibians Quadrupeds with powerful hind legs for jumping and for use in jump-based attacks.
Bird Wyverns Has two sub-classes: Theropod Bird Wyverns who are more similar to velociraptors and roam in packs led by an alpha, and True Bird Wyverns who are capable of flight and have beaks and have mannerisms akin to a chicken.
Brute Wyverns Bipedal wyverns remniscient of the tyrannosaurus rex, brute wyverns are distinctively larger than bird wyverns and are flightless. Their attacks make use of their massive girth although they are rather slow. Usually have short, adorable arms that can't do much.
Carapaceons Crustaceons sporting tough shells and exoskeletons. Their combat and mannerisms are based off of real-world crabs, so they usually make good use of their claws
Fanged Beasts Has three sub-classes: Primates, which are resemblant of gorillas and monkeys, Artiodactyls, which resemble flying squirrels, and Ursids, which resemble bears
Fanged Wyverns Mammalion monsters who don't fit into the Fanged Beasts category. They are also much larger and powerful than Fanged Beasts.
Flying Wyverns Has two sub-classes: True Flying Wyverns who are bipedal and are capable of true flight, and Pseudo Flying Wyverns who use their wings are forearms and are quadrupedal (but are still usually capable of true flight as well)
Herbivores Small monsters who are usually peaceful unless disturbed and sit at the bottom of the food chain
Classification Description
Leviathans Serpent-like monsters who are recognizable by their crocodilian appearances and long, sinuous bodies. They are adapted for living underwater, in sand, or even in magma.
Lynians Diminuitive but intelligent cats who have their own civilizations and culture. Some will hire themselves out into the service industry among humans
Neopterons Insectoid monsters who have fragile bodies and thus usually break apart upon death instead of being carveable (the larger boss Neopterons do not suffer from this).
Piscine Wyverns Differentiated from Leviathans in that they more closely resemble Flying Wyverns in terms of anatomy and aesthetic. However they do not fly but rather use their wings to swim through water or sand
Snake Wyverns Serpentine wyverns who are different from Leviathans in that they operate almost exclusively on land and have near-useless limbs. Their attacks make use of their long tails and generally long body length
Elder Dragons Loosely classified category of boss monsters whose only commonality are their legendary power and near-immortal lifespans. They are infamous for their longevity and strength and are often the subject of mythology and rumor. Many have their fights broken into phases and some require other weapons (e.g. Dragonator) or other special techniques.
??? (Unclassified) In-universe this class contains monsters whose classification has not yet been, or cannot be determined. They are filled with mystery and are rightly feared because of it.

Guide Information

  • Publisher
  • Platforms
    3DS, Switch
  • Genre
    Action Role-playing
  • Guide Release
    1 September 2016
  • Last Updated
    1 November 2019
  • Guide Author
    Cassie Sun

Share this free guide:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account:

Discord logo

Remove this ad
Subscribe to Premium