Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score
Table of Contents
Expand All

Monster Hunter World

Power is Everything

Nathan Garvin

Very similar to the “Impregnable Defense” trophy/achievement, this one requires you to collect a total of five tier 8 weapons. For reasons that may not be immediately apparent, this is actually somewhat more difficult than collecting five tier 8 pieces of armor.

For one thing, there aren’t usually too many different tier 8 weapons per weapon type, and of the tier 8 weapons available for the weapon, there likely won’t be five of them you actually need to make. Unless you switch between weapons you’ll find yourself effectively burning materials and Zenny, which may be distasteful, especially since there’s plentiful pieces of useful tier 8 armor. Heck, defeating Nergigante alone will unlock the ability to craft ten pieces of tier 8 armor (defeating each Elder Dragon unlocks a five piece armor set, which comes in two versions), while many tier 8 weapons require you to farm Xeno’Jiiva. Finally, don’t forget that each weapon requires you to advance up a weapon tree, creating many - if not all - of the lower level variants along the way. Not only does this cost quite a bit of Zenny (around 100,000 Zenny per weapon, in some cases), but a wide variety of materials, both Low Rank and High Rank monster materials and various bones and ores, etc.

That being the case, you’ll probably need to complete the main questline, then farm Xeno’Jiiva as the optional quest to do so becomes available until you have the parts to make the five tier 8 weapons you need. After which, you’ll need to climb the weapon tree, fighting other monsters and gathering materials as necessary to progress through the lower tiers. Once the fifth tier 8 weapon is crafted, this trophy/achievement should pop.

No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
  • Platforms,
    PS4, XB One
  • Genre
    Action RPG
  • Guide Release
    13 February 2018
  • Last Updated
    7 December 2020
  • Guide Author
    Nathan Garvin

Share this free guide:

This guide features a full, beginning-to-end walkthrough written in an “ideal chronological order of events” format. Main quests are interspersed with side quests in the order in which they unlock, although some side quests and arena challenges may only be referenced instead of fully explained. These are typically quests that have you facing a monster you’ve already fought under similar circumstances that offer no unique reward for completion. For example, after completing most main quests you won’t be able to attempt that quest again, but you’ll usually unlock an identical side quest allowing you to hunt the same monster in the same area with the same success/failure conditions.

Monster strategies will be discussed in detail as you encounter them throughout the walkthrough, featuring elemental and status information and drop lists. The guide also features a fully detailed bestiary for those who just want information about specific monsters unaccompanied by a walkthrough. Trophy/achievement information can also be found in a separate trophy/achievement guide, although be warned: many trophies/achievements in Monster Hunter World are easier said than done.

Other features of this guide include:

  • Information on crafting/harvesting.
  • Side quests that unlock mantles, ingredients and other useful features.
  • Field Researcher quests including where to catch rare fish, how to capture small monsters, and where to locate Grimalkynes/Gajalaka.
  • Grimalkyne/Gajalaka quests.
  • How to upgrade the Ancient Tree/Harvest Box and how to unlock various fertilizers.
  • How the Elder Melder works, melding different items and decorations.
  • Where to find the Powertalon and Armortalon, and how to upgrade them into the Powercharm and Armorcharm.
  • Detailed information on how to unlock Tempered Monsters, the difference between Threat Level 1, 2 and 3 Tempered Monsters.
  • Information on Feystones, including drop rates, the differences between the types (Mysterious, Gleaming, Worn and Warped).
  • How to get Warrior’s Streamstones and Hero’s Streamstones.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: