Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score

Final Fantasy XV

About the Game

Jarrod Garripoli
Nathan Garvin

Initially revealed to the world in 2006, Final Fantasy XV was known as Final Fantasy Versus XIII, and was to be a part of the Fabula Nova Crystallis Final Fantasy sub-series. It was originally directed by Tetsuya Nomura, but this changed to Hajime Tabata at a later time. The game was originally supposed to be on the Playstation 3, but technical issues and troubled developement led it to be transitioned to the eighth generation of platforms, the Playstation 4 and Xbox One.

It was in 2012 that the game’s development moved to the above platforms, with an official rebranding happening at E3 2013, where it was unveiled to now be called Final Fantasy XV, the next in the mainline series. In March of 2015, a demo was released and included with Final Fantasy Type-0 HD, dubbed Episode Duscae, offering players a chance to explore a limited open world. The following year, an event was held, where the initial worldwide release date of September 30, 2016, was revealed, along with some media tie-ins, including Kingsglaive (CGI film) and Brotherhood (animation series).

Shortly before its release date, though, Tabata released a video explaining that the game was set to include a huge Day One patch. Because of this, Tabata explained that the game would be delayed to include that patch, so players with slow internet or without any, would be able to play the game in a working state. The game was released on November 29, 2016, worldwide, with a Season Pass that will include four pieces of downloadable content.

No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS4, XB One
  • Genre
    Action RPG
  • Guide Release
    19 December 2016
  • Last Updated
    11 April 2023
    Version History
  • Guide Author
    Nathan Garvin, Jarrod Garripoli

Share this free guide:

After a years-long cold war between the Kingdom of Lucis and the empire of Niflheim over the world’s last crystal, an armistice is finally agreed upon. As part of the peace treaty, the heir to the Lucian throne Noctis Lucis Caelum is to marry Lady Lunafreya Nox Fleuret, an oracle from the imperial province of Tenebrae. After Noctis sets out to meet his betrothed, the treaty collapses. Merely a ruse to bring down the magical barrier protecting Lucis, Niflheim invades and takes the kingdom and the crystal for itself. With the treaty in tatters and his father and betrothed believed dead, Noctis must rely on his own tenacity and the support of his band of loyal followers to get him through what is to come.

**Version 1.4 **

  • Complete coverage of the main story.
  • Basic gameplay section telling you how to play the game.
  • A Skills section showing everything related to the characters’ hobbies, including an extensive list of every recipe in the game.
  • A postgame section telling you how to get through every dungeon, including the brutal Pitioss Ruins.
  • All sidequests in the main walkthrough and in their own section.
  • Every single Hunt in the game, including strategies on how to beat them.
  • A miscellaneous section describing Chocobos and mini-games.
  • An extensive trophy/achievement guide.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: