Once you get past the Main Embrace Gate during the main story and have full access of the map, you will be able to find some spots that will have Corrupted Machines walking around them. These are Corrupted Zones and are home to these corrupted machines. They are more powerful and aggressive than their normal counterparts, but they have all an added weakness to fire. To clear a Corrupted Zone, you simply need to kill all of the machines. Note that corrupted machines cannot chase you out of the zone, so you can use that to your advantage.

Note: Rather than list complex strategies for these zones, only the basic data will be shown.

Level Location Machines XP
15 Northeast of South Embrace Gate 4 Scrappers 5,000 XP
15 Northwest of Mother's Crown 3 Grazers 5,000 XP
18 Northeast of Cauldron SIGMA 4 Chargers, 1 Fire Bellowback 5,000 XP
15 Southeast of Daytower 2 Scrappers, 3 Watchers 5,000 XP
20 Southeast of Daytower 2 Longlegs, 1 Scrapper 6,000 XP

All Corrupted Machines have the same weaknesses as their normal counterparts.

Level Location Machines XP
20 Southwest of Gatelands Bandit Camp 3 Longlegs, 2 Tramplers 6,000 XP
23 West/Southwest of Meridian Village 3 Glinthawks, 3 Scrappers 6,000 XP
23 Southwest of Spurflints Hunting Grounds 3 Stalkers 6,000 XP
27 Southeast of Maker's End 2 Ravagers, 1 Fire Bellowback 8,000 XP
32 East/Southeast of Cauldron ZETA 2 Rockbreakers 10,000 XP
34 South of Sunfall 2 Behemoths, 3 Broadheads 10,000 XP

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Sony Interactive Entertainment
  • Platforms
  • Genre
    Action RPG
  • Guide Release
    16 February 2017
  • Last Updated
    21 October 2020
  • Guide Author
    Nathan Garvin, Jarrod Garripoli

Share this free guide:

Taking place one-thousand years in the future, colossal machines have overrun and dominated the land, forcing humans to regress to tribal societies who have to survive off the land. Where did these behemoths come from? With a love for technology, it is up to Aloy, an outcast of her Nora tribe, to uncover the mysteries of her world. Take to the open world to explore, fight the metal monstrosities and learn all about the wonderful world of Horizon: Zero Dawn.

Version 1.2

  • Basic mechanics, including exploring, gathering, fighting and crafting.
  • Completion of every single side mission and errand in the game.
  • Collectibles and locations section updated (Banuk Figures, Vantage Points, Bandit Camps etc).
  • A thorough walkthrough of the main story missions.
  • A complete walkthrough of every single side mission in the game.
  • Strategies on how to defeat each of the enemies.
  • A full trophy guide.
  • Full Frozen Wilds DLC guide.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account:

Discord logo
Remove this ad
Subscribe to Premium
Remove this ad - Subscribe to Premium