Gamer Guides logo

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD
Strategy Guide

Author(s): Jarrod Garripoli, Claire Farnworth
Editor(s): Claire Farnworth
First Published: 28-04-2015 / 00:00 GMT
Last Updated: 12-06-2020 / 06:10 GMT
Version: 1.1 (????) 02-07-2020 / 11:51 GMT

Game Mechanics


The world map returns in Final Fantasy with Type-0, with players able to explore it as soon as Free Time 2.3 starts. Whenever you leave Akademeia, six hours will be removed from the remaining time you have left and if there's less than six remaining, then you will not be able to leave.

The overworld is split up into a bunch of different regions, with not all of them available for exploration at the beginning of the game, as they are under control of a different nation. As you do more story missions and other optional ones (Expert Trials), then more areas will become under Dominion control and you'll be able to explore them.

A map of the overworld, complete with the regions listed.


While exploring the overworld, you will get into random encounters, similar to older Final Fantasy titles. The battles play out like any other in the game, but there's a slight twist added to these ones. Sometimes upon completing a battle, you will get an option to either continue fighting or to retreat.

Choosing to fight will respawn the same set of enemies, but they will be a higher level. You will be able to continue fighting up to a total of five consecutive battles, after which, you will be sent back to the overworld map. You will also be sent back to the overworld upon choosing the retreat option.

Breakdown of Areas

The following is a breakdown of all of the areas in the game, along with any notable towns and/or dungeons that can be found in those areas.

Region Towns Dungeons
Northern Valley -- Valley of Monsters
Berith Desert -- --
Old Lorica Region -- Black Tortoise Crevasse, Blast Site
Jubanla Region -- Northern Corridor (connects to North Togoreth), Mt. Jubanla (path on east side of volcano)
Dragon Sanctuary Amiter --
North Togoreth Region Mi-Go Northern Corridor (connects to Jubanla)
Mahamayuri -- --
Azurr District Azurr --
Cetme District Cetme --
Meroe Region Meroe Bethnel Caverns
Region Towns Dungeons
Iscah Region Iscah, Rokol --
Togoreth Region Keziah --
Rilochy Province Rilochy, Shakara --
West Nesher District Bazz --
East Nesher District -- --
Rubrum Region Akademeia, McTighe, Aqvi, Corsi Corsi Cave
Eibon Region Toguagh Tower of Agito (requires airship)
Roshana Province Rama, Roshana --
Veill Desolands -- Silent Key
Innsmouth Region -- Innsmouth Coast

Note: You will need the Setzer airship in order to reach Northern Valley, Berith Desert and Dragon Sanctuary. All other areas are accessible via dungeons or on foot/chocobo.

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms
    PC, PS4, XB1
  • Genre
    Action Role-playing
  • Guide Release
    28 April 2015
  • Last Updated
    12 June 2020
  • Guide Author
    Jarrod Garripoli, Claire Farnworth

Share this free guide:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account:

Discord logo

Remove this ad
Subscribe to Premium