Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score
Table of Contents
Expand All

Final Fantasy Type-0 HD

Eight-Arm Gilgamesh

Claire Farnworth
Jarrod Garripoli

Eight-Armed Gilgamesh is one of the two secret bosses in the game, and can only be encountered on a third playthrough or greater. He appears via portals on the overworld, where he’ll draw in a random character to fight him in an one-on-one battle. Should you win, you will receive that character’s ultimate weapon, but if you lose, Gilgamesh will take your character’s equipped weapon. So be prepared before you even try.

It’s not exactly clear what makes the portals appear, but they can show up as early as when you exit the Deserted House after clearing the mission in Chapter 4. One theory is that you need to defeat Gilgamesh on three different occasions, which are in Chapter 6, Chapter 8 and once more in Machina’s Struggle on NG+. In fact, that’s ideal, as the first portal appears in Old Lorica and you will be able to see it when you are forced to that region.

You will find the portals at the following four locations, which are listed in the order that they appear, starting over from the beginning once you’ve hit all four portals:

  • Old Lorica region (by Black Tortoise Crevasse).
  • Azurr District (near imperial capital).
  • Rilochy Province (near royal palace).
  • Innsmouth Region.

When you see Gilgamesh raise his weapons and give off a golden glow (left), be ready to dodge to avoid as much damage as possible when the various weapons come falling down (right).

Battling Gilgamesh

The battle with Gilgamesh still plays out similar to previous ones, except he is a lot stronger (level 65) and has more moves at his disposal. What is the same is that your attacks will do little damage by themselves and you will need to rely on Breaksights in order to actually defeat Gilgamesh.

His attacks include:

  • Shooting projectiles at you.
  • Charging you while swinging swords, then hitting the ground and causing a small shockwave around him.
  • His weapons will glow and float out from his hands, then shoot into the sky, with them landing where you are located. Dodge quickly away from the weapons (you might take some damage).
  • He will stab with his swords, then do the same overhead slam mentioned before.
  • Gilgamesh can also do the overhead smash by itself.
  • He will do a series of slashes, before finishing off with a projectile blast.

Remember that whenever you hit a Breaksight, you want to stop attacking, as if you do keep attacking, then you won’t get the Breaksight streak whenever Gilgamesh kneels down. There are no new moves added to his repertoire at any point, so you simply need to dodge all of the attacks described above. Patience is the key to any fight with Gilgamesh.

No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS4, XB One
  • Genre
    Action RPG
  • Guide Release
    28 April 2015
  • Last Updated
    7 December 2020
  • Guide Author
    Jarrod Garripoli, Claire Farnworth

Share this free guide:

In an act of unprovoked aggression, the Militesi Empire invaded the Dominion of Rubrum. Imperial dreadnoughts swarmed the skies, assailing the unsuspecting countryside under the banner of the White Tiger. From amidst the flames of the besieged dominion, the Vermilion Bird rose in defiance, her crystal granting magic and mighty eidolons that her disciples might cast out the technologically advanced aggressors. Thrust into the tumult of war, the fate of the world and its four crystals now rests on the shoulders of fourteen brave, young warriors.

In our extensive strategy guide, we offer:

Version 1.1

  • A comprehensive walkthrough for every single story mission.
  • Lists and explanations of everything you can do during your free time between missions.
  • Guidance on how to complete every Task and Special Order.
  • How to acquire every single weapon and Chocobo.
  • Tips to get every single trophy/achievement in the game.
  • Walkthrough for every NG+ mission and Expert Trial.
  • Coverage of every single dungeon, including a detailed analysis of the Tower of Agito.
  • How to unlock all of the Eidolons, Magics and every single item in the shops.
  • The location of every single l’Cie Crystal, as well as how to defeat the game’s two super bosses.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: