Purchase Game

Final Fantasy IX

Iifa Tree (2)

Jarrod Garripoli

If you don’t remember how to get to the Iifa Tree, return to the Conde Petie Mountain Path and take the one path to the north of where one of the stones was on your first visit. From there, it’s a hop, skip and a jump away from the Iifa Tree. Upon entering, there will be a short scene, then you will have the option to change up your party members and change their equipments. For now, this walkthrough will use the party outlined at the end of the previous page, which will be Zidane, Amarant, Vivi and Eiko. You can still exit the Iifa Tree at this point, but you can’t change your party members around (like substituting Dagger back in), although re-entering will give you the prompt again.

Travel along the path before you and after some screens, the game will automatically take over for you. Once the scene is over, you will have another opportunity to change around your party members. Watch the scene that follows, then you’ll be thrown into a battle with two Mistodons. These undead creatures are nothing more than a normal monster, so you won’t really have to worry about anything. If you wish to get rid of them quickly, then you can simply have Eiko or Dagger cast Life on them, but their HP pools are pretty low, so there isn’t really any point in doing so.

Mistodons can put your characters to sleep with their Mist attack

More scenes follow this battle and when you can move, look behind the tree nearby to find Mocchi, a moogle. You can save your game here, although it’s not really needed, plus you can read a letter from Stiltzkin if you select Mognet. There’s only one way to go here, so follow the path before you, knowing you’ll have to fight a few more Mistodons. Once you reach the end and meet back up with Dagger, you’ll receive an Aquamarine and there will be more scenes occurring here, bringing an end to Disc 2 and taking you straight to Disc 3.

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms
    iOS, PC, PS1, PS4, Switch, XB One
  • Genre
  • Guide Release
    28 April 2019
  • Last Updated
    20 February 2021
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

A group known as the Tantalus Theatre Troupe visits the kingdom of Alexandria to celebrate the birthday of Princess Garnet. Unbeknownst to the royal family and the citizens of the city, the troupe is actually a band of thieves, who are aiming to kidnap the princess. However, to add a twist, the princess was planning on escaping the castle all along, even asking the troupe to "kidnap" her. This little event kickstarts many others, leading to a grand adventure.

This guide is planned to have a beginning-to-end walkthrough of the main story, while simultaneously guiding you through all of the side quests and other goodies in the game. The side quests include Chocobo Hot and Cold, Tetra Master, and all of the smaller ones, like the jump rope mini-game, Friendly Monsters, Excalibur II, and much more. In addition to all of this, you will find lists of all abilities that characters can learn, as well as Quina's Blue Magic.

  • Beginning-to-end walkthrough, covering all story elements
  • Coverage on all side quests, from major to minor ones
  • How to learn all abilities, including Quina's Blue Magic
  • Detailed trophy/achievement guide

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: