Purchase Game

Final Fantasy IX

Pinnacle Rocks

Jarrod Garripoli

You might remember the name of this area from a brief exploratory session earlier in the game, but things will be a little more involved now. As you recover from the little crash, Ramuh, the Thunder God shows up and will put you to a test, just to see if Dagger is worthy enough to be his master. Ramuh hid five manifestations of himself in the forest, with each telling you a piece of the Hero’s Story. After collecting all five pieces, you will have to tell Ramuh the story in a certain order in order to gain his trust. The first manifestation is on the ledge above the moogle, with this one netting you the Beginning part of the story.

Ignore the path behind Ramuh and go down to the moogle, giving him the letter you got from Mosh. Feel free to save and heal, then go down to the water below, opening the chest at the front of the screen (Mythril Vest). There will be another manifestation underneath the above passage, to the left of the “window,” with this being the Human part. Continue to the left and onto the next screen, where Ramuh will be in front of the chest right in front of you (Cooperation part of the story). Open the chest behind him for The Ogre, then climb the path nearby to the upper portion.

Go around to the right side up here, across the wooden bridge, and down the ramp a little bit. When you see the button prompt, you will be given an option to jump off or not, so jump off to reach the chest on the ledge there (Mythril Armlet). When you land in the water, there will be another image of Ramuh to the left, netting you the Silence section. That leaves one more manifestation of Ramuh, which is back where you first saw him, getting you the last piece, Hero. You can now head to the exit, which is on the second screen, near the chest you had to drop down to open (there looks to be a cave here).

(1 of 5) The location of the Beginning story bit

When you speak to Ramuh here, he tells you that the story is actually comprised of four parts, with one not belonging. The order in which you want to pick the stories is as follows:

  • Beginning
  • Cooperation
  • Silence
  • Either Human/Hero

For picking the correct order, you will receive an item, a Peridot. Another scene will happen, then you will have the option to jump off now or jump off later. If you picked up the three treasures in the forest section, then go ahead and jump off now. This will lead to one final scene before you arrive in Lindblum once more.

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms
    iOS, PC, PS1, PS4, Switch, XB One
  • Genre
  • Guide Release
    28 April 2019
  • Last Updated
    20 February 2021
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

A group known as the Tantalus Theatre Troupe visits the kingdom of Alexandria to celebrate the birthday of Princess Garnet. Unbeknownst to the royal family and the citizens of the city, the troupe is actually a band of thieves, who are aiming to kidnap the princess. However, to add a twist, the princess was planning on escaping the castle all along, even asking the troupe to "kidnap" her. This little event kickstarts many others, leading to a grand adventure.

This guide is planned to have a beginning-to-end walkthrough of the main story, while simultaneously guiding you through all of the side quests and other goodies in the game. The side quests include Chocobo Hot and Cold, Tetra Master, and all of the smaller ones, like the jump rope mini-game, Friendly Monsters, Excalibur II, and much more. In addition to all of this, you will find lists of all abilities that characters can learn, as well as Quina's Blue Magic.

  • Beginning-to-end walkthrough, covering all story elements
  • Coverage on all side quests, from major to minor ones
  • How to learn all abilities, including Quina's Blue Magic
  • Detailed trophy/achievement guide

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: