Download Guide
Purchase Game

Diablo IV

Purchase on Amazon

Diablo 4: The Druid Spirit Animal Boons Feature Explained

Craig Robinson

Each class in Diablo 4 has its own unique passive feature, which will grant each class a very unique feature only it can engage with. Barbarians have their expertise, Sorcs have their enchantments, Rogues specialization, and Necromancers have the book of the Dead. Meanwhile, Druids get their spirit animal boons, which are passive buffs that you can unlock by giving these creatures the essence of the dead. Here’s a closer look at how the Diablo 4 Druid Spirit animals work.

Here is a quick look at what to expect from the Druid's Spirit Animal feature in Diablo 4. Image via Blizzard Entertainment.

Diablo 4 Druid Spirit Animal Boons Explained

Upon reaching level 15, the Druid will get access to a priority quest, which will take you to Scosglen. Upon arrival at the quest marker, you will learn more about the home of the Druids, and of course, their spirit companions.

You will find four spirit animals in the town when you arrive. To get their blessings, you must collect boons from fallen foes around Sanctuary. You can turn this currency into any spirit animal when you gather enough essence. When you reach certain thresholds with each animal, you will unlock one of the buffs those animals provide.

There are four animals, and each has four buffs, offering a total of 16 buffs to choose from. You can only equip one buff from each animal, and can change the buffs whenever you want by checking the spirit animal class feature. When you unlock all boons for each animal, you will get to choose a fifth buff, which can be from any animal you want.

The idea behind these buffs is that you can adapt the buffs you want to suit better the build you are running. For example, if you are running the bear build, anything that boosts your tankyness, or offers more damage may be very helpful. Meanwhile, crit-focused builds may want other sources of damage and crit, or maybe opt for defensiveness. Moreover, those playing a magical build can take the more nature or earth-orientated buffs from the animals.

Once we know the spirit boons are confirmed, we’ll table each animal and buff for you below. If you want to look at what the other class specializations do, you can see our pages on them as well:


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Blizzard Entertainment
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS4, PS5, XB One, XB X|S
  • Genre
    Action RPG
  • Guide Release
    15 March 2023
  • Last Updated
    7 June 2023
    Version History
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

Diablo IV is the ultimate action RPG experience with endless evil to slaughter, countless abilities to master, nightmarish dungeons, and legendary loot. This guide for Diablo 4 currently contains the following:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: