Download Guide
Purchase Game

Diablo IV

Purchase on Amazon

How to Use the Enchanter (Occultist) in Diablo 4

Matt Chard

After progressing through the main story in Diablo 4, you’ll gain access to the Occultist who is similar to the Enchanter from previous Diablo games. Interacting with them will open up a few features which will play an integral part in the game for hours to come.

How to Unlock the Occultist in Diablo 4

You can unlock the Occultist at level 25 or when you’ve acquired the Codex of Power which will unlock after you complete one dungeon (which rewards an Aspect). Once you’ve achieved either of them, head back to "Kyovashad" iconKyovashad where you’ll find the Occultist in a hut in the northeastern part of town. Speak to him, and complete his priority quest to unlock their services. Note: You’ll need to have passed the Prologue before you gain full access to "Kyovashad" iconKyovashad. If you want to read more about the Codex of Power and Legendaries, click here!

(1 of 2) You can find the Occultist in the northeastern part of the map.

You can find the Occultist in the northeastern part of the map. (left), When you first unlock them, you'll have a priority quest to complete. (right)

What Can I Do at the Occultist?

The Occultist has a few services for you to use at your leisure. The first one you’ll probably want to use is the Extract Aspect service. This allows you to extract an aspect from a piece of your equipment and place it in another piece of gear. Note: This is a one-time use only unless you keep extracting it. Doing this requires some gold and resources to use this service with most of them coming from salvaging your equipment.

Then you have the “Imprint Aspect” service which allows you to imprint (place) an Aspect from the gear you extracted it from or the Codex of Power which has infinite use Aspects once you’ve unlocked them by completing dungeons.

(1 of 5) The Occultist offers five services. This one is Imprint Aspect which allows you to take an Aspect from your Power of Codex or an item you've extracted.

Next up, you have “Craft Sigils” which allows you to craft Nightmare Sigils. Then you have “Salvage Sigils” which allows you to salvage Nightmare Sigils into "Sigil Powder" iconSigil Powder which can then be used to create new Sigils. These are used in Nightmare Dungeons to unlock endgame versions of normal dungeons by using a Nightmare Sigil which gives the dungeons special modifiers and better loot. You’ll only use these two options when you reach the Nightmare difficulty.

Finally, you have “Enchant”. This allows you to replace certain affixes on your items if you don’t like them, or fancy a change. You can use this as often as you like, but it will cost more gold, the higher the item tier is.


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Blizzard Entertainment
  • Platforms,
    PC, PS4, PS5, XB One, XB X|S
  • Genre
    Action RPG
  • Guide Release
    15 March 2023
  • Last Updated
    7 June 2023
    Version History
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

Diablo IV is the ultimate action RPG experience with endless evil to slaughter, countless abilities to master, nightmarish dungeons, and legendary loot. This guide for Diablo 4 currently contains the following:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: