Purchase Game

Dragon Age: Inquisition

All about the Characters & Crafting

Claire Farnworth
Scott Peers

Multiplayer is really all about using and leveling up your favorite character types (the characters in multiplayer are class types). That means it is all about the crafting.. wait, how does that make sense? Well, when you first start the game you will only have three basic characters to choose from: Legionnaire (Melee), Keeper (Mage) and Archer (Rogue). Three of Twelve! That means you need to unlock the other nine characters.

As you play, you will find items in chests as well as gold (Gold is much more common than items!). These items will likely be upgrades to the basic ones you get, but as you keep playing you’ll gain large amounts of useless items. You want to salvage these for parts. You can then use these parts in the crafting menu (in multiplayer) to make another character’s armor (such as the “Reaver’s Mail”). Doing that will unlock the Reaver for use.

You can also plain find a characters armor from a chest, but that is very rare. Very possible, but rare, so expect to gather items until you can craft the armor for the character you want to play.

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Electronic Arts
  • Platforms
    PC, PS3, PS4, Steam, 360, XB1
  • Genre
  • Guide Release
    18 December 2014
  • Last Updated
    24 January 2021
    Version History
  • Guide Author
    Greg Boccia, Greg Wright, Claire Farnworth

Share this free guide:

This guide for Dragon Age: Inquisition offers a detailed walkthrough of the main story and all side quests associated with each region, detailing easily missed features and hidden lore secrets along the way. The guide also covers all three main DLC: Jaws of Hakkon, The Descent, and Trespasser, and all dialogue choices throughout the game.

Inside this guide you will find:

  • Coming Soon! A detailed Character Builds section with coverage of all classes, skill trees, recommended armor, weapons, consumables, and much more!

  • A Walkthrough for all main story quests, detailing the consequences of your choices along the way.

  • Walkthrough for all DLC content, covering Jaws of Hakkon, The Descent, and Trespasser.

  • Exploration sections for each region, including side quests, requisitions, collections and companion quests.

  • Comprehensive section on Dialogue Choices, covering both approval and romance options for companions.

  • Breakdown of Specialization Trainers, including where to find them and how to complete their missions.

  • Crafting section covering key locations for potions, tonics, grenades, and other materials.

  • An Equipment section, detailing where to find some of the best weapons and armor.

  • A Mounts section with descriptions of how to acquire them and when they become available.

  • Overview of Multiplayer including basic starting tips, coverage of characters, challenges, and loot.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: