Purchase Game

Dragon Age: Inquisition

It Remains to be Seen

Claire Farnworth
Scott Peers

This quest is acquired when you enter Frostback Basin for the first time. You are informed that the Jaws of Hakkon use human bones for ritual purposes, and are asked to find out more about it. The artifacts you’re looking for are Enchanted Skulls, which can be found in Swamp Kuldsdotten, to the north east of the Research Outpost. Once you’re in the swamp an area will be highlighted where the skulls are concentrated. They glow with a warm light, so are easy to spot in the darkness of the swamp. You will find three on the ground level hanging from trees, and two higher up attached to large trunks.

(1 of 2) Two Enchanted Skulls can be found higher up from the swamp floor, attached to large trunks.

Two Enchanted Skulls can be found higher up from the swamp floor, attached to large trunks. (left), Three Enchanted Skulls can be found hanging from trees on the swamp floor. (right)

Once you have all the skulls, bring them to the Augur in Stone-Bear hold. He will ask you to use veilfire magic by examining runes in the hold. While the exact steps aren’t explained, all you need to do is take the veilfire torch and go to the cave where Gyda Myrdotten is at work, in the north east of the hold. There you will find three runes on the walls of the cave, each one unlocking a codex when you interact with it:

  • The Death
  • The Mourning
  • The Return

Once you’ve interacted with each rune, return to the Augur. When he asks What did you take as the purpose of the tale?“, be sure to answer with option 1: “Renewal?”. This will provide you with two Approval for the quest ‘Guests of the Hold’.


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
    Electronic Arts
  • Platforms
    PC, PS3, PS4, Steam, XB 360, XB One
  • Genre
  • Guide Release
    18 December 2014
  • Last Updated
    24 January 2021
    Version History
  • Guide Author
    Greg Boccia, Greg Wright, Claire Farnworth

Share this free guide:

This guide for Dragon Age: Inquisition offers a detailed walkthrough of the main story and all side quests associated with each region, detailing easily missed features and hidden lore secrets along the way. The guide also covers all three main DLC: Jaws of Hakkon, The Descent, and Trespasser, and all dialogue choices throughout the game.

Inside this guide you will find:

  • Coming Soon! A detailed Character Builds section with coverage of all classes, skill trees, recommended armor, weapons, consumables, and much more!

  • A Walkthrough for all main story quests, detailing the consequences of your choices along the way.

  • Walkthrough for all DLC content, covering Jaws of Hakkon, The Descent, and Trespasser.

  • Exploration sections for each region, including side quests, requisitions, collections and companion quests.

  • Comprehensive section on Dialogue Choices, covering both approval and romance options for companions.

  • Breakdown of Specialization Trainers, including where to find them and how to complete their missions.

  • Crafting section covering key locations for potions, tonics, grenades, and other materials.

  • An Equipment section, detailing where to find some of the best weapons and armor.

  • A Mounts section with descriptions of how to acquire them and when they become available.

  • Overview of Multiplayer including basic starting tips, coverage of characters, challenges, and loot.

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: