Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score

Fire Emblem Engage

How to Get Master Seals in Fire Emblem Engage

Nathan Garvin

There are three tiers of classes in Fire Emblem Engage, with base classes and advanced classes being the most common, while a select few classes end up lumped in a third “special” category. You can reach up to Lvl 20 in both base and advanced classes (special classes can reach lvl 40) but once you reach the level cap you can’t improve in that class any further. This is where seals come in, which allow you to change classes while also resetting your level, allowing for further gains to be made. This page will cover how Master Seals work, and where you can find Master Seals.

What Are Master Seals in Fire Emblem Engage?

Master Seals are used to transition from a base class to an advanced class, making them sort of one-hit wonders. You’ll need one for most characters, but after a character has been promoted to an advanced class, there’s no good reason to ever go back to a base class, meaning the need for Master Seals will eventually dry up.

In order to promote to an advanced class, you must meet several conditions:

  • You must be promoting from the correct base class (or from an advanced class using a Second Seal)
  • You must be Lvl 10+ in a base class (or any level with an advanced class)
  • You must possess the correct [Proficiencies]

For example, if you want to promote to a "Mage" iconMage Knight, your base class must be a Mage, so a character who isn’t already a Mage is excluded from promoting to Mage Knight via a Master Seal. You must also have unlocked proficiency in either axes, swords or spears (depending on which variant of Mage Knight you want to promote to) and tomes.

Where Can You Find Master Seals in Fire Emblem Engage?

Throughout the first half of the game, Master Seals are a fairly uncommon, limited resource that you’d do well not to squander. You’ll get a handful of Master Seals from chests or defeating enemies in missions as you make your way through the game, and these should be used to promote characters with unique classes. Far more Seals can be purchased from the Item Shop on the Somniel, but even these are limited until you reach Chapter 18, at which you can purchase as many as you wish. Given how difficult it is to get your hands on vast quantities of gold, however, you should never squander seals. Below you’ll find a table with the locations of every Master Seal in the game:

Item Location
Master Seal Paralogue Mysterious Merchant - in a chest.
Master Seal Chapter 7 - defeat "Hortensia" iconHortensia
Master Seal Buy from the Item Shop after Chapter 8
Master Seal Chapter 10 - defeat Hyacinth
Master Seal Chapter 11 - dropped by enemy
Master Seal x2 Buy from the Item Shop after Chapter 11
Master Seal Chapter 12 - keep all NPC allies alive
Master Seal x2 Buy from the Item Shop after Chapter 13
Master Seal x2 Buy from the Item Shop after Chapter 14
Master Seal Chapter 16 - defeat Marni
Master Seal x2 Buy from the Item Shop after Chapter 16
Master Seal (infinite) Buy from the Item Shop after Chapter 17
No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
  • Platforms,
  • Genre
    Adventure, Tactical RPG
  • Guide Release
    12 January 2023
  • Last Updated
    7 February 2023
    Version History
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

Fire Emblem Engage is the latest entry of the legendary Fire Emblem series. This guide for Fire Emblem Engage currently contains the following:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: