Download Guide
Purchase Game

Fire Emblem Engage

Purchase on Amazon

Fire Emblem Engage Tempest Trials Explained

Jacob Woodward

While Fire Emblem Engage has been more streamlined to make the gameplay more about the strategic battles, there are still a bunch of secrets to uncover, unlocking new avenues to play. One such secret is Tempest Trials, an Engage-first mode that challenges players to another level.

This guide will walk you through what Tempest Trials are in Fire Emblem Engage as well as how to unlock them for yourself so you can experience the challenge first hand.

What Are Fire Emblem Engage Tempest Trials?

Tempest Trials available in Fire Emblem Engage

So you’ve heard of Tempest Trials in Fire Emblem Engage but what exactly are they? Well, this new introduction to the Fire Emblem franchise is something that allows a little more variety to the game. This is because it introduces multi-level battles, increasing in difficulty as you progress.

The Tempest Trial difficulty scaling is two fold. You can increase the difficulty of the actual level from 1 to 40 and between 1-20, the enemies will naturally become harder. However, from 21-40, these enemies will get even tougher with advanced classes for you to deal with. Thankfully, there is no permadeath in this mode so don’t worry about those fallen units if you do fail.

When you load up Tempest Trials, you’ll be presented with a variety of map options. There are four Tempest Trials to choose from, varying in regions around Elyos. Contrary to the other Trials modes such as Relay Trials, Tempest Trials are completely offline and you do not need to play with friends or have a Nintendo Switch Online subscription to boot them up.

How To Unlock Fire Emblem Engage Tempest Trials

Fire Emblem Engage Tempest Trials gameplay

As previously mentioned, these Tempest Trials are a secret somewhat since they are not in the main story of the game.

To unlock them for yourself, you will first have to complete Chapter 6 of the game. This will allow you to visit the Tower of Trials, which houses this mode.

The Tower of Trials is located within the Somniel, right at the bottom of the map. However, Tempest Trials are not available at this point, simply the other online modes.

For you to get your hands on the Tempest Trials, you will need to play more of the main story, up to Chapter 11 in fact. Once you have cleared this Chapter, revisit the Tower of Trials in the Somniel and Tempest Trials will now be unlocked.

Once you unlock the Tempest Trials, try your hands at some, or even all of them and you will be rewarded handsomely with various materials that you can use throughout the Somniel.


User profile pic
Welcome Guest

Guide Information

  • Publisher
  • Platforms,
  • Genre
    Adventure, Tactical RPG
  • Guide Release
    12 January 2023
  • Last Updated
    7 February 2023
    Version History
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

Fire Emblem Engage is the latest entry of the legendary Fire Emblem series. This guide for Fire Emblem Engage currently contains the following:

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: