Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title Publisher
Updated Title
Published Title Score Editor's Choice
Published Title Score

Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker

What are Criterion Dungeons

Shane Williams

This page is a guide on Variant and Criterion Dungeons which was introduced to Final Fantasy XIV with the 6.25 Patch that was released Tuesday, October 18th 2022.

Complete one Variant Dungeon to gain access to Criterion Dungeons.

All Criterion Dungeons

Name Item Level Players
Another Sil’dihn Subterrane 610 4

How To Unlock Criterion Dungeons

In order to unlock Criterion Dungeons you’ll need to have completed the Endwalker Storyline, then speak with Osmon who can be found at (X:12 Y:13.4) in Old Sharlayan. Here you’ll begin the A Key to the Past Side Quest which will require you to beat a Variant Dungeon. Once you’ve done that, speak with Osmon again and you’ll be given access to Criterion Dungeons.

What are Criterion Dungeons

Criterion Dungeons are slightly different to Variant Dungeons, as there aren’t alternate paths you can take and they require a fixed party of 1 Tank, 1 Healer and 2 DPS. In Variant Dungeons you’ll have the option of multiple actions, but Criterion Dungeons will only give you access to one action which is Variant Raise II.

Additionally, this can only be used by each player once until an objective has been completed. Inside you’ll find enemies which are a lot more difficult to the ones you face in the Variant Dungeons and the boss uses the same mechanics as extreme trials.

Criterion Dungeons Rewards

Completing the final Criterion Dungeon boss will reward you with 4 Coins a Mount or Orchestrion Roll. If the mount doesn’t drop in the chest, then you can trade 100 Coins to Osmon for it instead. However, that’ll take a while to earn, so you’ll want to hope the RNG is on your side.

No Comments
Guide Information
  • Publisher
    Square Enix
  • Platforms,
    Mac, PC, PS4, PS5
  • Genre
  • Guide Release
    3 December 2021
  • Last Updated
    12 January 2023
    Version History
  • Guide Author

Share this free guide:

Welcome to our Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker guide! Endwalker is the fourth expansion for Final Fantasy XIV after the last expansion Shadowbringers. This guide currently contains the following:

NEW - Updated for patch Patch 6.2

Patch 6.0

Get a Gamer Guides Premium account: